Chris Gayle’s world record is broken by Babar Azam, who also defeats Virat Kohli with a blistering knock to win the PSL championship for Peshawar.

Records have evolved into Babar Azam’s best buddy at this point. The Pakistani skipper frequently sets some type of record whenever he scores substantially in any format, much like India’s Virat Kohli does. This held true for the PSL Elimination 1 match between Peshawar Zalmi and Islamabad United. Peshawar defeated Islamabad by 12 runs on Thursday in Lahore, with Babar Azam providing the driving force with a scorching 39-ball 64 to begin the batting.

In the past several years, Babar has excelled in the game’s shortest format. The most by any cricketer in the globe since 2019, he has nine T20 hundreds to his name. Jos Buttler, the limited-overs skipper for England, is second best with six T20 tonnes.

Friday’s second elimination game puts Peshawar against the Lahore Qalandars, the reigning champions. The winner advances to the rescheduled final on Saturday versus Multan Sultans.

Due to the predicted rain on Sunday, the final was moved up by one day.

Subscribe to our website to get the fastest cricket updates and news. Also download our app, Cricket Fastline, India’s best cricket live line for the best experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *